oscaralexander

"UFO Radar" with magnetometer

Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:17 am

Hi gang! I'm new here and excited to dive head-first into this beautiful stuff.

I'm the co-founder of the Dutch UFO Reporting Center (good for around 75 reports a month) and was recently made aware of the MADAR project: a little device that measures fluctuations in the (electro)magnetic field as well as compass deviations. I should probably add that historically a lot of significant close encounters involved EM disturbances (e.g. cars shutting down, and electronic instruments malfuctioning).

Being a designer and developer myself, this seemed like a really nice device to copy to get my hands dirty with Python and the Raspberry Pi platform. I also have a UFO witness in the rural north of the Netherlands who repeatedly has weird UFO experiences and would love to deploy such a device.

On to my reason for posting here.

Going by the statuses output by the MADAR nodes across the US (i.e. the data in the pop-ups), I see that it registers:

• Compass in degrees (I assume degrees from magnetic north?)
  • Field in milligauss
  • Average ambient in milligauss
  • Standard deviation in milligauss
When the Field value exceeds a predefined trigger value (40 by default) it sets the device into Alert status. My question would be: would a Sense Hat suffice to measure these values with sufficient accuracy, or would I need a more sophisticated magnetometer / compass? Recommendations very much welcome.

The rest I can hopefully figure out myself :) Thanks!
Last edited by oscaralexander on Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Andyroo

Re: "UFO Radar" with magnetometer

Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:10 pm

Now then folk - never knock a persons belief as they may be correct.

As for the OPs question - I’m not sure of the tech but the details of the hat can be found at https://thepihut.com/products/raspberry ... t-astro-pi
Need Pi spray - these things are breeding in my house...

Idahowalker