badfo1

Help: Automation Using GPS

Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:10 am

So I have been recently working on a progress where I ultimately want to make a robot autonomously follow gps waypoints. I have purchased a gps and have gotten it to output coordinates.

My current goal is to make it travel from its original location (A) to a point (B). The problem I am encountering is that the robot does not know what direction it is facing before it travels to point B. I was thinking of making it travel a few feet and measuring a new set of coordinates to create a bearing, so it knows what direction it is facing.

I am pretty new to python, and my largest issue is implementing this into python. My goal is: drive for a couple seconds -> make a reading -> correct course and drive for a couple more seconds -> make another reading -> drive for a couple more seconds, and so on until it is somewhere around five feet from point B. Ignoring any gps inaccuracies, how write a python code that could do this?

Thanks for any ideas/suggestions

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Re: Help: Automation Using GPS

Wed Dec 05, 2018 9:30 am

Solid state compass?
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
"My grief counseller just died, luckily, he was so good, I didn't care."

scotty101

Wed Dec 05, 2018 9:40 am

PID controller?

Use the position updates (or the heading field from the GPVTG message) to determine what your heading is and if it is not correct, apply an adjustment to the steering until the heading matches what you want.

A compass would be easier though as it would save you from having to correct the heading based on how far the robot has travelled whilst it has been moving to face the correct direction.
Electronic and Computer Engineer
Pi Interests: Home Automation, IOT, Python and Tkinter

gordon77

Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:40 pm