jamesmd95
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:45 pm

This is for the guy that just sent me a nasty email claiming this is not hosted on a raspberry pi!
http://picraft.zapto.org/
rapidwhois.uk | jmdawson.co.uk

r00x
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:05 am

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Thu Feb 07, 2013 8:34 pm

jamesmd95 wrote:This is for the guy that just sent me a nasty email claiming this is not hosted on a raspberry pi!
http://picraft.zapto.org/
What? No faith! :roll:

They probably don't know about your 1.15GHz overclock... or the SD card :lol: I'm getting some fancy UHS-1 100MB/s one myself! I don't suppose the Pi can support its speed but whatever happens, I know it will be faster than my current SD card.

I'm still working on finding my Pi's absolute maximum OC with bare minimum overvoltage. :D

jamesmd95
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Thu Feb 07, 2013 8:42 pm

# uncomment if you get no picture on HDMI for a default "safe" mode
#hdmi_safe=1

# uncomment this if your display has a black border of unused pixels visible
# and your display can output without overscan
#disable_overscan=1

# uncomment the following to adjust overscan. Use positive numbers if console
# goes off screen, and negative if there is too much border
#overscan_left=16
#overscan_right=16
#overscan_top=16
#overscan_bottom=16

# uncomment to force a console size. By default it will be display's size minus
# overscan.
#framebuffer_width=1280
#framebuffer_height=720

# uncomment if hdmi display is not detected and composite is being output
#hdmi_force_hotplug=1

# uncomment to force a specific HDMI mode (this will force VGA)
#hdmi_group=1
#hdmi_mode=1

# uncomment to force a HDMI mode rather than DVI. This can make audio work in
# DMT (computer monitor) modes
#hdmi_drive=2

# uncomment to increase signal to HDMI, if you have interference, blanking, or
# no display
#config_hdmi_boost=4

# uncomment for composite PAL
#sdtv_mode=2

#uncomment to overclock the arm. 700 MHz is the default.
arm_freq=1150

# for more options see http://elinux.org/RPi_config.txt
gpu_mem=16
core_freq=450
sdram_freq=450
over_voltage=8
force_turbo=1
current_limit_override=1

Well there's my config - WILL VOID ANY WARRANTY haha
rapidwhois.uk | jmdawson.co.uk

jamesmd95
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Thu Feb 07, 2013 8:44 pm

UHS-1 100MB/s one myself!
Awesome! Mines 'only' 75MB/s gets 30mb/s on a DD test. Think the pi is restricting it.
rapidwhois.uk | jmdawson.co.uk

r00x
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:05 am

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Thu Feb 07, 2013 8:56 pm

jamesmd95 wrote:
UHS-1 100MB/s one myself!
Awesome! Mines 'only' 75MB/s gets 30mb/s on a DD test. Think the pi is restricting it.
Yeah it's undoubtedly the Pi. UHS is, if I recall, slightly different in terms of communication to 'normal' SDHC cards. These cards are backwards-compatible with the old protocols though. I have heard, on the grapevine, that the Pi's kernel module for SD is being modified for better UHS support, but don't quote me on that, I have no idea what I'm on about :D

Interesting config!

Mine currently looks more like:

Code: Select all

gpu_mem=16
arm_freq=1000
core_freq=500
sdram_freq=600
over_voltage=3
If I try anything more aggressive it gets fairly unstable! Reducing core_freq and sdram_freq doesn't improve stability either. I haven't tried anything beyond over_voltage=6 (...yet). :D

jamesmd95
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:00 pm

looks good! Just pushing mine to the limit! Seems faster again :)

arm_freq=1180
gpu_mem=16
core_freq=550
sdram_freq=600
over_voltage=8
force_turbo=1
current_limit_override=1
over_voltage_sdram=6
avoid_pwm_pll=1


Think I will play minecraft now / Test Stability!

BTW I have heatsinks!
rapidwhois.uk | jmdawson.co.uk

jamesmd95
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:18 pm

Wow, all I can say right now haha. Its lag free, like totally lag free. To a point where I can set 20 blocks of TNT off without getting [WARNING] Can't keep up! Did the system time change, or is the server overloaded?

Seems that the core freq makes a HUGE difference. As well as the ram freq.
rapidwhois.uk | jmdawson.co.uk

r00x
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:05 am

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:58 pm

jamesmd95 wrote:Wow, all I can say right now haha. Its lag free, like totally lag free. To a point where I can set 20 blocks of TNT off without getting [WARNING] Can't keep up! Did the system time change, or is the server overloaded?

Seems that the core freq makes a HUGE difference. As well as the ram freq.

Core freq affects the L2 cache I believe - try ARM @ 1150MHz with Core freq @ 250MHz... slow as anything :D

SDRAM @ 600MHz seems the sweet spot for me :D

jamesmd95
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:04 pm

Think I have mine stable now! Booting back up now, fancy some minecraft?
rapidwhois.uk | jmdawson.co.uk

jamesmd95
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:21 pm

Back up now, seems to be as good as its going to get. Have to get myself a 512MB pi soon
rapidwhois.uk | jmdawson.co.uk

r00x
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:05 am

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:23 pm

Nice one! I am preoccupied, alas. Experimenting with GPIO - going to see if I can't convince work to use Raspberry Pi's as nifty little demo boards for our displays :D

I want to pipe some server info (CPU, disk, mem usage - possibly graphs and text) to a small graphic display as a working example. :)

jamesmd95
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:25 pm

That would be awesome! Have to see this when its done!
rapidwhois.uk | jmdawson.co.uk

r00x
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:05 am

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:55 pm

It'll look like crap probably, but I'll have a cool accessory for my Pi (useful for Minecrafting, as at a glance I can tell whether the Pi is overstressed) and will hopefully be working a lot more with Pi in the future. :)

jamesmd95
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:16 pm

yeah :D 3 players online 2 using world edit...still no lag! I love my pi now! picraft.zapto.org:25565
rapidwhois.uk | jmdawson.co.uk

randrade
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 8:42 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:31 pm

I just moved my server to CraftBukkit 1.4.7 R0.1 and installed NoLagg and BKCommonLib. I'm also running the server with -Xms128M -Xmx408M. Let me know how it goes! randrade18.no-ip.org

edit: I ended up moving it back to the original MC server. It's faster.

jamesmd95
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Fri Feb 08, 2013 5:41 pm

Craftbukkit is MUCH faster if you use nospawnchunks :)
rapidwhois.uk | jmdawson.co.uk

randrade
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 8:42 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:17 pm

jamesmd95 wrote:Craftbukkit is MUCH faster if you use nospawnchunks :)
So much better than the official MC server jar. Thanks!!

Also, guys, any ideas why the Pi sometimes does this while generating maps?

Image

jamesmd95
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:39 pm

Map generators use to much cpu for the pi :/
rapidwhois.uk | jmdawson.co.uk

jamesmd95
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:41 pm

Making a youtube video on the setup now, sorry to the people that were online. Its going to be down for 1 hour while I do this!
rapidwhois.uk | jmdawson.co.uk

jamesmd95
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Sat Feb 09, 2013 3:08 pm

Ok the server is backup now, had to make the video twice :( its uploading now. This will impact the server performance as I only have 1MB upload so my internet is being killed right now. Will post the video here soon :)
rapidwhois.uk | jmdawson.co.uk

jamesmd95
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Sat Feb 09, 2013 4:26 pm

rapidwhois.uk | jmdawson.co.uk

User avatar
tzj
Posts: 302
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:09 pm
Location: Barnsley, SY, UK

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Sun Feb 10, 2013 5:37 am

Loving the optimizing! ;)
http://www.themagpi.com <---- Checkout the MagPi
(The MagPi - Co-Founder)

Jayjader
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:03 pm

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:07 pm

For the first time world generating, you could also do that on a different computer, then copy and paste the world folder onto the pi...
That way you skip the "200 sec" time spent. On my Air, for example, when I start up a new world on my server, it only takes a couple secs - less than 7 in any case-. Of course, if time isn't an issue for you, you can disregard what I'm saying!

jamesmd95
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contact: Website

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:22 pm

Thats going to take just as long by the time you copy the world about! Still its probably a better way of doing things. Just wanted to keep the guide as simple as possible :) and 200 seconds is only a few minutes.
rapidwhois.uk | jmdawson.co.uk

qwerty95
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 5:52 am

Re: Minecraft server - How To

Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:34 pm

Hey I noticed that when I start the server via ssh it works, but when I exit the session the server stops. Is there a way to keep it running even when I quit out of the session?

Return to “Networking and servers”