elsmandino

Connecting Smart TV to internet with RPi1 Model B

Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:12 am

Hello.

I have a Samsung Smart TV that has ethernet only, in a room with network outlets.

I have a spare RPi1B to hand, with a USB wireless adapter attached.

Is there any way I can connect the TV to the Pi and then have the Pi connect to my home network?

scotty101

Re: Connecting Smart TV to internet with RPi1 Model B

Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:38 am

It's been covered before on here, you bridge the WiFi and Ethernet interfaces.

viewtopic.php?t=132674
Electronic and Computer Engineer
Pi Interests: Home Automation, IOT, Python and Tkinter

elsmandino

Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:42 am

Thanks very much for that - if I do exactly what the instructions say, will this get things up and running?

I am very new to programming and am slightly worried that there are parts that I need to adapt for my own use, for example, what to add under Ethernet Static IP.

thagrol

Thu Jun 06, 2019 2:07 pm

scotty101 wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:38 am
It's been covered before on here, you bridge the WiFi and Ethernet interfaces.

viewtopic.php?t=132674
Technically, that's forwarding not bridging.

While your TV will be able to make outbound connections and recieve related data you won't be able to initiate connections to the TV from elsewhere on your network. SO don't ecpet to be able to cast content from devices to your TV.
I have a Samsung Smart TV that has ethernet only, in a room with network outlets.
Did you mean "without" rather than with?

And have you considered powerline networking? One at the TV, one near the router.
Attempts to contact me outside of thes forums will be ignored unless signed in triplicate, sent in, sent back, queried, lost, found, subjected to public enquiry, lost again, and finally buried in soft peat for three months and recycled as firelighters

elsmandino

Thu Jun 06, 2019 3:56 pm