StarshipEngineer

Automated OpenVPN Server Setup Script

Tue Feb 23, 2016 12:14 pm

I've put together a script that configures OpenVPN on the Raspberry Pi to turn it into a personal VPN server. It is located here:

https://github.com/StarshipEngineer/OpenVPN-Setup

I'm hoping that users can discuss, collaborate, and resolve issues and feature ideas here! I'd love to share the project with the community, give users an easier place to discuss things than GitHub comments, and provide another forum for feedback.

ccclapp

Re: Automated OpenVPN Server Setup Script

Wed Feb 24, 2016 4:13 am

Ok, I am happy to be the 1st to chime in...
I am fairly new at RPi/scripting, (but do advanced home automation, etc). I needed VPN on a RPi to put at remote locations. I tried several how-to's here and elsewhere. Several are good, but all are outdated. After two days, (and 3-years of reader-comments/corrections) I never succeeded getting OpenVPN on a RPi up and running (I did get a PPTP VPN, which is significantly easier, but does not compare to OpenVPN).

Then I came upon this solution and tried it...f-ing fantastic!

This is literally a plug-n-play install, with occasional dialog boxes to fill in key config data. It took about 30 min (2nd time will be 10 min) to install VPN, create site certificate and client certs. Then it places the client cert (.oven file...forget the actual name, but its the one you need to install on your client computer/tablet/phone) in your Home/Pi directory on RPi to export to your client device. As I said,...fantastic!

I wrote to developer and encouraged he start this thread for comments/questions. Glad to leave the 1st.

judaca

Mon Feb 29, 2016 6:41 am

Installing is verry easy, but when i reboot my PI it fails to start the vpn server ....

ccclapp

Mon Feb 29, 2016 7:30 am

...do you mean at the reboot which occurs during the install of after you've generated the client cert and are 100% done?

judaca

Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:09 pm

After 100% done

ccclapp