hqi

B+ as media center

Tue Oct 14, 2014 8:01 pm

Good day my fellow geeks, its my first time on this forum so forgive me if I made any errors. I have been thinking about using a Raspberry Pi as a media center and while doing some research before purchasing my Raspberry Pi I had a few questions. Based on an article I read they said that if I was streaming 720p videos from a computer on my network I will experience no issues however they did say if I stream 1080p i will experience issues so I was wondering if I attach a hard drive to my pi with all my 1080p videos if I will experience issues ? I don't think I should as long as I use the Raspberry Pi B and not A but its better to get the opinion from someone with experience in playing their 1080p videos. I have to get a XBMC remote and SD card also and I wanted to know what will I have to check to ensure they will be compatible.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Re: B+ as media center

Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:23 pm

Locally attached devices will be fine. Wired ethernet should also be fine - the only problems I have seen is with wireless which is usually a bit slower. But for my ripped DVD collection, wireless works fine, that is only SD resolution of course.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
“I own the world’s worst thesaurus. Not only is it awful, it’s awful."

FuzzyToothpaste

Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:32 pm

What do you know about playing YouTube and Netflix? I have an older computer (2004) that can't play Netflix or YouTube, at least not very well. That makes me wonder if a Raspberry Pi can or if it will be just as bad as the older computer of myn. How well does a Raspberry Pi play YouTube?

jamesh

Thu Oct 16, 2014 11:23 am

YouTube should work OK with the right browser.

Netflix requires DRM, so doesn't work, as DRM is not supported.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.