ReadiesCards

Recommeded C++ dev environment ?

Sat May 19, 2012 12:00 pm

One of the tasks coming out of the Oxon-RaspberryPi group was to find out the recommended way of developing C/C++ apps for the RPi.

Is it vi, gcc, make etc (not my preference)?
Or is there a C++ IDE that'll run within Debian on the RPi direct?

Being familar with RADStudio, Visual Studio etc on MS-Windows I am a bit reluctant to go 'back' to make files and the like but I am a very novice Linux user...

Paul

nick.mccloud

Re: Recommeded C++ dev environment ?

Sat May 19, 2012 1:27 pm

RPi = Linux
Therefore c dev would best follow the standards for c dev on Linux

However, for IDE fans (including me), Geany makes for a softer starting place.

Max

Sat May 19, 2012 2:13 pm

ReadiesCards wrote: Or is there a C++ IDE that'll run within Debian on the RPi direct?
"sudo apt-get install qtcreator" seems to work.

For patching existing code written by others, other programming languages and low level work, I prefer Komodo Edit as text editor and just compile from the command line.
Don't know if that's available for the Pi though.

Morgaine

Sat May 19, 2012 10:37 pm

IDEs are a very bad idea in programming education, because they hide the tools in actual use.

They result in students who don't understand the compilation and linking process, and who think that debugging happens by magic. Used in a non-trivial project, they produce programmers who don't understand the dependencies between the program modules they write, because the IDE has sorted all that out for them, and that leads to projects that are hard to maintain and scale poorly.

The end result of IDE-based learning is not a fully proficient programmer, but just a proficient user of the IDE. That may be adequate for vocational training, but not for education which is concerned with principles.

Morgaine.
Intolerance is a failure of education. Education is predicated on tolerance of the uneducated.

woodinblack

Sun May 20, 2012 2:01 am