conorMcMenamin

***Installing gcc???? Please help ***

Fri Apr 22, 2016 9:57 pm

Okay so hopefully someone is reading this. Basically, i am very new to programming and ive started using python but have sinve realised cplusplus is used more prodominantly in subjects such as object-oriented programming and i thought it relevant. However i have no idea how to access the gcc 4.9.3 on my pi 3 and ive already typed in the commands in terminal but it says i already have it i just do not know how to access the c++ compiler on my pi 3. Please help me

MarkHaysHarris777

Re: ***Installing gcc???? Please help ***

Sat Apr 23, 2016 5:35 am

conorMcMenamin wrote: ... However i have no idea how to access the gcc 4.9.3 on my pi 3 ...
The following will tell you whether the c++ compiler is installed (it should be) and what level it is.

Code: Select all

g++  -v
Place this code in a file called hello.cpp

// my first program
#include <iostream>

int main(){
    std::cout << "hello, world!" << std::endl;
}

compile the code with :

g++  -Wall  -o  hello  hello.cpp

That will (presumably) compile the hello world program and place the executable in your directory. Run it with:

./hello 
(please notice the little dot before the slash hello.

PS The C compiler (really the same one) is invoked with gcc -Wall -o hello hello.c

(the difference of course will be the code itself)
Last edited by MarkHaysHarris777 on Sat Apr 23, 2016 6:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
marcus
:ugeek:

ghans

Sat Apr 23, 2016 6:17 am

What makes yoi think Python does not support object-oriented
programming ?

ghans
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.
• Don't like to search the forum BEFORE posting 'cos it's useless ? Try googling : yoursearchtermshere site:raspberrypi.org

MarkHaysHarris777

Sat Apr 23, 2016 6:34 am

ghans wrote:What makes yoi think Python does not support object-oriented
programming ?