ojohnsen

Developing programs for the Raspberry Pi

Sat Oct 24, 2015 7:28 am

Hi there.

I'm new at Raspberry Pi, and struggling a bit with how to best set up a development platform for my Raspberry Pi.

Earlier I've worked a lot on microcontroller boards, but developing and running programs on embedded environments with Linux is new to me.

I want to set up a little system for transmitting data and logging it in files on my NAS. My plan is to have a Raspberry Pi as a "hub", connecting it to my LAN network via Ethernet, and storing files on the NAS. Eventually connecting a wireless interface to the Raspberry Pi, to either receive data or transmit commands to nodes around my house.

But my initial problem is finding a good way to program the Raspberry Pi (C/C++). I wish to avoid having to connect a screen and keyboard to the Raspberry Pi, and wish to program it remotely. Is it possible to use an IDE on my Windows computer, and sending the programs to the Raspberry Pi using an SSH shell? Or is a different approach better?

Thanks for any help!

Regards,
Øystein.

buja

Re: Developing programs for the Raspberry Pi

Sat Oct 24, 2015 2:52 pm

Yes, it is possible to work remotely on the Pi.
A good place to start is here: https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... te-access/

DougieLawson

Sat Oct 24, 2015 3:01 pm

Run OpenVPN on your RPi and it can appear as part of your local network anywhere in the World (with an OpenVPN client on your Windows machine).

There's a video tutorial at: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-33548728
There's lots of written words (by me) on it at: https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/comm ... v6?lang=en
Note: Having anything remotely humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tinfoil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

ojohnsen

Sun Oct 25, 2015 6:33 am

Thanks for your replies.