Zakki

Automating Multiple Valves...

Wed May 21, 2014 6:58 pm

I am creating a filter that will start a cleaning process every 24 hrs. It doesn't matter what time of the day it is, I just want the cleaning cycle to start every 24 hrs from when power is initially supplied to the Raspberry Pi. So if the filter is first plugged in at 4pm it will clean everyday at 4pm. The cleaning process will act as follows...
send power to relay 1 for 20 seconds
then
send power to relay 2 for 20 seconds
then
send power to relay 3 for 20 seconds
then
do nothing for 20 seconds
then
send power to relay 4 for 20 seconds
then
then
send power to relay 5 for 20 seconds
then
send power to relay 6 for 20 seconds

I am a super newbie to programming and I have no idea how to get this kind of code figured out. Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks,
Zac

DeeJay

Re: Automating Multiple Valves...

Wed May 21, 2014 8:27 pm

Just dive in and start writing. One of the features of Python is its 'near-English' syntax.

Perhaps the outline of your code might look like this -

Code: Select all

import time

def send_power(relay, duration):
    print("Sending power to relay " + repr(relay) + " for " + repr(duration) +  " seconds.")

def run_sequence():
    send_power(1, 20)
    send_power(2, 20)
    send_power(3, 20)
    time.sleep(20)
    send_power(4, 20)
    time.sleep(20)
    send_power(5, 20)
    send_power(6, 20)

run_sequence()
You haven't said anything about how the relays are going to be connected and controlled, so you will have to flesh out the working details of the send_power function based on the circuitry you connect.
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way: http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
How to Report Bugs Effectively: http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html

Zakki

Wed May 21, 2014 9:51 pm