tewe

Minecraft Pi Edition API

Mon May 12, 2014 6:30 am

Hi!

I am a beginner when it comes to Python, I am trying to learn it using the Minecraft API. I am trying to make a program that places a GoldBlock instead of every block I step on. This is the code that I have written:

Code: Select all

import minecraft.minecraft as minecraft
import minecraft.block as block
import time

mc = minecraft.Minecraft.create()
playerPosition = mc.player.getPos()
post = mc.postToChat
blockType = mc.getBlock(playerPosition.x, playerPosition.y -1, playerPosition.z)

if __name__ == "__main__":

while ('True'):
		if not blockType == 9 or blockType == 0:
			mc.setBlock(playerPosition.x, playerPosition.y -1, playerPosition.z,block.GOLD_BLOCK)

while ('True'):
			mc.setBlock(playerPosition.x, playerPosition.y -1, playerPosition.z,block.GOLD_BLOCK)
In the later code is a WhileLoop. I am pretty sure that it is this part of the code that is incorrect. When I run the program from LXTerminal it runs properly. But it is only the block that the player stands on when the program executes that is transformed into gold.

I really appreciate all of your help!
I'm a swedish viking with big beard, I like to eat raspberry pi.

DougieLawson

Re: Minecraft Pi Edition API

Mon May 12, 2014 7:33 am

You only read mc.getPos() & mc.getBlock() once.

Move those calls inside your while loop so that as you move you re-read the coordinates of the block to turn to gold.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

elParaguayo

Mon May 12, 2014 8:29 am

As an aside, your code says:

while ('True')
True in inverted commas is the string True, rather than the True/False boolean value. You'd therefore normally have:

while True: