yaconsult

Looking for sample python code driving stepper and servos

Tue May 10, 2016 5:52 am

I am new to working with servos and steppers but experienced with linux and python. I am helping a friend with a project that involves controlling three servos and a stepper motor using both the Adafruit servo board and the Adafruit stepper board.

I have been using the DualStepperTest.py (https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit-Mo ... perTest.py) code as an example and assume that this is the best way to control multiple hardware devices at the same time by using threading?

I would love to see more example python code showing the control of multiple hardware devices like this. There will be one or two buttons that will be pushed and pushing the buttons will require the positions of the servos and stepper to be changed in some way at the same time. So I am thinking that the main loop will be sitting and watching for button presses and when they happen a call setting a new position will be sent to the thread controlling the appropriate servo or stepper?

Looking at working code would help a lot! So if you are willing to post or link to code examples showing this kind of hardware control - thank you very much! I've got to say that being able to control hardware from the Pi is fun!

MarcScott
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator

Re: Looking for sample python code driving stepper and servo

Wed May 11, 2016 7:33 am

You could have a look at gpiozero https://gpiozero.readthedocs.io/en/v1.2.0/index.html

There's no control for steppers or servos built-in as yet, although there is a generic pwm output device that you could use.

As for threading - it's built in. For instance, the code below will run and print hello every time the button is pushed.

Code: Select all

from gpiozero import Button

button = Button(4)

def say_hello():
    print('hello')

button.when_pressed = say_hello

B.Goode

Wed May 11, 2016 8:02 am