milad69_1

Protect GPIO

Wed Apr 30, 2014 2:32 pm

I want to protect my raspberry pi's gpio pins from high voltage and also for current limiting just like rasPio breakout pro
I have 3V3 Zener diodes and 330 Ohm resistors. the problem is that i'm new in electronics and i'm not sure that i got the idea right.

can someone help me with this problem please? is this circuit right? :D

here is what I thought it should be:
Attachments
gpio.png
gpio.png (7.4 KiB) Viewed 4729 times

Burngate

Re: Protect GPIO

Wed Apr 30, 2014 4:07 pm

That seems to be approximately what the RasPiO Breakout Pro has, and, yes you have it nearly right.

If you accidentally connect the output to ground and set the pin to High, then only 10mA will flow, which the GPIO can handle.

However, if you accidentally connect the output to a voltage higher than 3v3, then what happens will depend on what that voltage is and what its source impedance is.
If it's a 5v power supply, its impedance will be very low - it will keep its output at 5v even when supplying an amp or more.
The poor little 3v3 zener will go pop, then the GPIO will try to sink that amp, and also go pop.

So move the zener to the other end of the resistor.
... the problem is that i'm new ...
can someone help me with this problem please?
Sorry, being new is something I can't help with ... but with hard work, and time, you'll eventually become old ... and then you'll wish you were young again :(

milad69_1

Thu May 01, 2014 7:33 am

thank You!! :D
very helpful. so zener diode must be in the other end of resistor:
gpio.png
gpio.png (8.95 KiB) Viewed 4642 times
I think I got it :D

I'll do hard work but I hope I'll never be old :( It's every one's wish I think :)

Milliways

Sat May 03, 2014 2:48 am

The Zener diode provides some protection, but is not the best (or cheapest) method.
The conventional solution is to use a clamp diode to 3.3V which limits voltage to 3.3 + 0.7V. A Schottky diode limits the voltage rise to a lower value.