Page 1 of 1

how y'alls raspberry pis 3 perform with swap?

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 2:53 am
by healingeye
I have been trying to make my raspberry pi 3 work at 1900 by 1200 with the video drivers "on" but i am not there yet.


what kind of swap do you use?
how does it perform?

Re: how y'alls raspberry pis 3 perform with swap?

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 4:40 am
by klricks
healingeye wrote:I have been trying to make my raspberry pi 3 work at 1900 by 1200 with the video drivers "on" but i am not there yet.


what kind of swap do you use?
how does it perform?
Generally on the RPi you avoid going into swap at all costs.
When on swap it's hard to tell the difference between that and a total lockup / crash.

Re: how y'alls raspberry pis 3 perform with swap?

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:05 am
by healingeye
the raspberry pi 3 always crashes when I turn the video card drivers on, and i am sure is because of lack of memorie

Re: how y'alls raspberry pis 3 perform with swap?

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 8:28 am
by shuckle
How do you turn the video drivers on? What do you mean by that?
(Asking since basically they are on by default...)

Re: how y'alls raspberry pis 3 perform with swap?

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 9:22 am
by RaTTuS
how much RAM have you allocated to the GPU

Re: how y'alls raspberry pis 3 perform with swap?

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:04 am
by jamesh
The paraphrase the above, you say you have turned the video drivers on, but that's odd. What do you mean by that? Are you talking about the beta test OpenGL drivers? They are 3D drivers, not video drivers. By default,. you don't need to turn them on unless you need the facilities they add, which is OpenGL. Most people don't need to turn them on.

Note, they are also in beta test, so bugs are to be expected. You will need to ensure you have the GPOU memory set high enough - you'll need to google for the correct values and how to do it.

Re: how y'alls raspberry pis 3 perform with swap?

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:06 am
by DougieLawson
What kernel are you running?

There was a bug in the bootcode with BRANCH=next 4.9.4-v7+ which meant lots of the RAM went into hiding. Fixed with 4.9.5-v7+. That one got my RPi3B swapping to the USB stick it boots from.