smoothrp

RP2 problems, please help !

Wed Feb 11, 2015 5:11 pm

Hi there,

Im a bit of a noob so i have no idea what is wrong.

Just got my pi2 with a 2a charger and 16gb micro-sd card. I installed the openelec rpi2 5.0.3. It all works great until i restart my pi. I get a black screen with the following error with a few lines saying:

error in check disk: could not repair filesystem, dropping to debug shell, try to run fack manually.
starting debuggin shell....type excit to quit
as: cant access tty: job control tirned off.

I then format the sd card, put on a new openelec and try it again. Sometimes is restarts oke, but after 2 or 3 restart it all turnes back to the error.

Is this the openelec or the hardware? The openelec or raspbmc from the new Noobs wont either. Im getting a message the pi2 is not compatible.

Hope somebody knows if its my pi2 or the software.

drgeoff

Re: RP2 problems, please help !

Wed Feb 11, 2015 6:57 pm

Try another charger and/or USB to micro-USB cable with a freshly written card.

smoothrp

Wed Feb 11, 2015 7:21 pm

i replaced the cable and so far so good. restarted/rebooted a few times and no problems so far. Dont have another 2a charger.

How did you know?

(If this was the problem and i will not return. 1000000000000x thanks. Been strugling with it for many, many hours.

drgeoff

Wed Feb 11, 2015 7:27 pm

smoothrp wrote:i replaced the cable and so far so good. restarted/rebooted a few times and no problems so far. Dont have another 2a charger.

How did you know?

(If this was the problem and i will not return. 1000000000000x thanks. Been strugling with it for many, many hours.
Inadequate powering is probably the all-time number one reason for RPI "trouble" posts.

dangut

Wed May 13, 2015 8:16 pm

drgeoff ,

System, Windows 8.1 Lenovo
Card Reader: Old SanDisk MicroMate I have had for years, attached to Belkin 3 Port USB 3.0 Hub (with Ethernet port) connected to Lenovo Twist 3.0 USB port.
RPi Model B+ (two Pi's)