DasKraut

How to access RPI over the net? Can't get it to work.

Tue Sep 09, 2014 9:36 am

Hey, all.

I'm just getting started with my RPi. I'm able to connect to it via Terminal on my Mac as long as I'm connected to my local network. But I can't connect to it from my work Mac.

I have forwarded an external port number to my RPI's IP (I have it static) internal port 22. Here I'm getting hung up is the documentation for SSH doesn't break it down. It goes from listing tons of commands without explaining it, into complex examples that mean absolutely nothing to me.

What is the command to type in my remote terminal program to reach my RPI at home? When I'm local, I just type "ssh pi@192.168.##.##" and it connects perfectly. When I'm at work, I've all sorts of combinations...
ssh pi@100.234.23.112:[port]
ssh 100.234.23.112 -l pi
ssh [port] -l pi 100.234.23.112

...nothing works. If I don't get an error message, it just goes down a line like I hit return in a text editor. Nothing ever happens.

Are there any step-by-step guides out there on how to do this? I keep finding piece meal help in all these different forums, but no straight answer walk-through.

Thanks in advance!

default_user8

Re: How to access RPI over the net? Can't get it to work.

Tue Sep 09, 2014 10:59 am

The syntax should be:
"ssh -p xxxx(external port number) user(in your case user is pi)@xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx(public ip address)

So it should look like this at the treminal prompt:
$ssh -p 1234 pi@100.123.12.12
Just with your port number and ip address, when you get it figured out you can use this tutorial to simplify your ssh connection.
http://superuser.com/questions/76193/ho ... ow-leopard

Also, not sure about where you are, but a lot of residential ISP's use dynamic ip addresses. So you may want to set up a ddns so you don't have to keep up with your public ip address.
Last edited by default_user8 on Tue Sep 09, 2014 11:03 am, edited 1 time in total.