Zoandar

Absolute max/min supply voltage?

Thu May 02, 2013 9:30 pm

I am looking for some power supply absolute limit specifications. I'm new to the PI, (specs of my hardware are in my signature) and really would like to use a 6ft. USB cable for power, so that I can loom that cable with the other cables running to the Pi (HDMI, LAN, USB from a powered hub) for a neater desk while working with it. However, after researching which 5V power supply and cable might be a good choice (I got the Amazon Basics gold plated 6 ft. cable and their 5V 2.1A USB charger supply) I am still getting the same results as every other 'longer than 3 foot' USB cable I have tried. That being, a voltage drop at the Pi down to around 4.55V, measured from my GertBoard GND pin and 5V pin near its GPIO connection header.

Using the Canakit 3 ft. USB cable and their 1A USB charger supply that came with my Pi, I see a range of 5.1 down to 4.97V while the Pi is operating. It is the only cable of many I have which does not seem to drop several hundred mV on the way to the Pi.