doubleudee1
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 2:39 pm
Location: Wales

Just a question? Reformatting an HD

Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:06 pm

Does anyone know of any way I can convert my old 1 TB HDD which is formatted in Linux back to ntfs or anything windows 10 will read?
Last edited by doubleudee1 on Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Make the most of your family and friends , your children grow up too quickly and you don't notice yourself ageing, friends dissapearing, moving on. You make plans for your future, but they can all be smashed in an instant, live life and enjoy. :)

RattusRattus
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 11:27 am

Re: Just a question?

Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:20 pm

Assuming that you don't need the data on it

1) erase the disk (puts it in a state windows will be happy with)
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sd?? bs=4M (replace sd?? with the device node for the hard disk you are wanting to reformat)

2) boot windows
- windows will see a blank disk and allow you to format it

/Andy

doubleudee1
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 2:39 pm
Location: Wales

Re: Just a question?

Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:30 pm

Thanks, I've tried putting into my pc (win 10) but that doesn't see it.
Make the most of your family and friends , your children grow up too quickly and you don't notice yourself ageing, friends dissapearing, moving on. You make plans for your future, but they can all be smashed in an instant, live life and enjoy. :)

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 21354
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Just a question?

Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:41 pm

doubleudee1 wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:06 pm
Does anyone know of any way I can convert my old 1 TB HDD which is formatted in Linux back to ntfs or anything windows 10 will read?

gparted is in the Raspbian repositories:

https://gparted.org/
Retired disgracefully.....
......to a more gentile life !

pcmanbob
Posts: 7712
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:28 pm
Location: Mansfield UK

Re: Just a question?

Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:54 pm

This might be exactly right as I don't have win10

but...

1. Right-click on This PC (it’s probably on your desktop, but you can access it from the File Manager, as well).

2. Click on Manage and Management window will show up.

3. Go to Disk Management.

You should be able to see all your connected HD's in there , just make sure you select the correct one , and then delete the partition, this should leave you with an empty dive ( note all data will be lost ) , then you can create a new partition and format it as you wish.

WARNING.

All data on the selected drive will be lost, don't do this if you want to keep the data.
Selecting the wrong drive could destroy you windows install, So take care on drive selection.
We want information… information… information........................no information no help
The use of crystal balls & mind reading are not supported

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10517
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: Just a question?

Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:56 pm

doubleudee1 wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:30 pm
Thanks, I've tried putting into my pc (win 10) but that doesn't see it.
then it means there is something wrong with the PC end - is it enabled in the BIOS ?
what does windows see via computer management
is it powered ?
how is it connected
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

doubleudee1
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 2:39 pm
Location: Wales

Re: Just a question?

Tue Sep 24, 2019 5:08 pm

RaTTuS wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:56 pm
doubleudee1 wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:30 pm
Thanks, I've tried putting into my pc (win 10) but that doesn't see it.
then it means there is something wrong with the PC end - is it enabled in the BIOS ?
what does windows see via computer management
is it powered ?
how is it connected
I have tried removing one of my existing HDD inside my pc and then putting this one in it's place.
On rebooting, windows sees the other two drives, but not this one??
Usually that works as I can reformat drives that way, so I am assuming something has happened inside the drive irself, looks like a bin job to me.
Thanks for all input anyway.
WD
Make the most of your family and friends , your children grow up too quickly and you don't notice yourself ageing, friends dissapearing, moving on. You make plans for your future, but they can all be smashed in an instant, live life and enjoy. :)

pcmanbob
Posts: 7712
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:28 pm
Location: Mansfield UK

Re: Just a question? Reformatting an HD

Wed Sep 25, 2019 8:02 am

Do you have a spare PC that the drive will physically connect to that also has a DVD drive . if so you could try boot & nuke and see if that will detect and erase the HD, just have the drive you want to wipe in the PC and set it to boot from the DVD.

I would not advise trying this in your main pc unless you really know what you are doing as you could wipe all your HD's by accident very easily, unless they are all disconnected.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/dban/

This may be an old version but all we want is to try and wipe the drive.
We want information… information… information........................no information no help
The use of crystal balls & mind reading are not supported

LTolledo
Posts: 2418
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 7:29 am
Location: Anime Heartland

Re: Just a question? Reformatting an HD

Wed Sep 25, 2019 8:13 am

I usually plug a "suspect drive" into an RPi (3B, 3B+) and see if it can be detected.

if not then I'll try to initialize it
if cannot initialize then I conclude its dead
if can initialize, proceed to initialization then use gparted to format the drive
if gparted cannot format the drive I conclude its dead.

for the "dead drives" concluded above, again I go back to W10 and do HDD check, if can be detected, using Seagate Tools (diskwizard?)
if detection and/or all test fails.... I have a new "plaything" :D
"Don't come to me with 'issues' for I don't know how to deal with those
Come to me with 'problems' and I'll help you find solutions"

Some people be like:
"Help me! Am drowning! But dont you dare touch me nor come near me!"

doubleudee1
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 2:39 pm
Location: Wales

Re: Just a question? Reformatting an HD

Wed Sep 25, 2019 1:50 pm

LTolledo wrote:
Wed Sep 25, 2019 8:13 am
I usually plug a "suspect drive" into an RPi (3B, 3B+) and see if it can be detected.

if not then I'll try to initialize it
if cannot initialize then I conclude its dead
if can initialize, proceed to initialization then use gparted to format the drive
if gparted cannot format the drive I conclude its dead.

for the "dead drives" concluded above, again I go back to W10 and do HDD check, if can be detected, using Seagate Tools (diskwizard?)
if detection and/or all test fails.... I have a new "plaything" :D
Yup, i't dead
Thanks
Make the most of your family and friends , your children grow up too quickly and you don't notice yourself ageing, friends dissapearing, moving on. You make plans for your future, but they can all be smashed in an instant, live life and enjoy. :)

Return to “Troubleshooting”