RLD831

Deleted Fan Script Tries to Run on Login

Sun Aug 18, 2019 4:58 am

A while back I installed a fan in my Raspberry Pi 4 running Raspbian. I used a python script to let it run at variable speeds. I recently decided to just power it off of the 3.3V line, so I don't need the circuit or the script. Now every time I log in with SSH, I get the following error

Code: Select all

python: can't open file '/home/pi/fan_ctrl.py': [Errno 2] No such file or directory
Obviously, it is looking for fan_ctrl.py in the home directory, which has already been deleted. I'm wondering if there is a specific file that I can edit to prevent it from trying to run, or if there is a way to search for the file that is trying to run that python script so I can edit it.

I don't remember which file I changed when I originally did it, and I'm just getting into Linux with Linux Mint and this Raspberry Pi, so any help is appreciated.

thagrol

Re: Deleted Fan Script Tries to Run on Login

Sun Aug 18, 2019 7:18 pm

Given that you're seeing it at every login, start with .profile and .bashrc in your home directory. If there's nothing there try the system wide equivalents: /etc/profile and /etc/bashrc

Edit:

You could just try this:

cd ~
grep -i fan_ctrl.py .*
This space unintentionally left blank.

DougieLawson

Sun Aug 18, 2019 8:28 pm

Try creating /home/pi/fan_ctrl.py (as a bash script that logs who called it)

#!/bin/bash
PARENT_COMMAND=$(ps -o comm= $PPID)
logger fan_ctrl.py called from $PARENT_COMMAND 
chmod 755 /home/pi/fan_ctrl.py

That should get something like

Aug 18 21:26:34 raspberrypi root: fan_ctrl.py called from systemd
in /var/log/syslog which may give a clue as to who called your script.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

bls

Sun Aug 18, 2019 8:59 pm

You could also try to search for it: