MrDitchy

Pi 4 hangs on boot when 2 displays connected

Fri Jul 26, 2019 9:12 pm

Hi, I have a 1GB Pi 4 that will work perfectly on either my little portable TV (720p) or my computer monitor (1080p). However if I connect both screens I get the rainbow square on both then the 4 Raspberrys on the monitor connected to HDMI 0 and then nothing. If I power down and remove the cable from HDMI 1 it boots perfctly to whichever monitor is connected. I am at a loss as to why. I am also a beginner with Raspian so I will need clear instructions on how to input any help that can be offered. Thanks in advance.

pfletch101

Re: Pi 4 hangs on boot when 2 displays connected

Sat Jul 27, 2019 12:51 am

What are you using to power your Pi? This sounds like a power supply problem.

MrDitchy

Sat Jul 27, 2019 4:31 am

Hi Its a 5.1 volt 3 amp supply that i am using.
Last edited by MrDitchy on Sat Jul 27, 2019 4:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

MrDitchy

Sat Jul 27, 2019 4:54 am

I have just tried another TV this time a 1080p model I get a no signal although my monitor on HDMI 1 appeared with just the trash can suggesting that it may a lack of power from the HDMI output. I will try and get a second computer monitor and see if that cures the problem. Again on boot both screens had the rainbow square.

So I booted the PI and then plugged the second screen(my 720p TV) into the HDMI 1 and now it works as the second screen. It may hang when booting but at least it works.
Cheers

pfletch101

Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:25 pm

MrDitchy wrote:
Sat Jul 27, 2019 4:54 am
I have just tried another TV this time a 1080p model I get a no signal although my monitor on HDMI 1 appeared with just the trash can suggesting that it may a lack of power from the HDMI output. I will try and get a second computer monitor and see if that cures the problem. Again on boot both screens had the rainbow square.