Lasklo

Cannot SSH Into my Raspberry PI Zero W

Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:52 pm

Hello! I am new to Raspberry PI's and need a bit of help! I have a Raspberry PI Zero W that my Dad got me from Micro Center and I'm trying to set it up to be headless with my Arch Linux Laptop. I have installed Raspbian Lite to an 8GB Micro SD Card, added the files "wpa_supplicant.conf" and "ssh" to the boot partition of the SD Card, put the sd card into the rPI. I plugged it in and waited for a few minutes for it to boot up, an LED light started flashing, then it stayed on. I assume this means that it is ready to go, but when I try to do

Code: Select all

ssh pi@raspberrypi
I get this error:

ssh: Could not resolve hostname raspberrypi: No address associated with hostname
If anybody could help me with this, that would be greatly appreciated!

Ernst

Re: Cannot SSH Into my Raspberry PI Zero W

Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:15 am

Lasklo wrote:
Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:52 pm
Hello! I am new to Raspberry PI's and need a bit of help! I have a Raspberry PI Zero W that my Dad got me from Micro Center and I'm trying to set it up to be headless with my Arch Linux Laptop. I have installed Raspbian Lite to an 8GB Micro SD Card, added the files "wpa_supplicant.conf" and "ssh" to the boot partition of the SD Card, put the sd card into the rPI. I plugged it in and waited for a few minutes for it to boot up, an LED light started flashing, then it stayed on. I assume this means that it is ready to go, but when I try to do

ssh pi@raspberrypi
I get this error:

ssh: Could not resolve hostname raspberrypi: No address associated with hostname
If anybody could help me with this, that would be greatly appreciated!
There can be many reasons why that happens.
What I would suggest that you first ensure that setup of the access point does not have "wireless client isolation" enabled. Next you should check the contents of wpa_supplicant.conf to make sure that it is correct. Your file should look similar to:

country=DE