lunae0023

Seagate plus hub 8TB error

Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:56 am

Hello,

I just got a Raspberry pi. I have setup plex on it and now I am trying to use my Seagate plus hub 8TB HDD that has all my media on it. When I plug it in I get an error, see attachment. I was using this drive on a Windows computer before trying to move it to the RPi, so I don't know if that has something to do with it. I can't find any solutions to this error. Can someone please help me. Also I am very new to using Linux so I have a step learning curve. Image
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (138.56 KiB) Viewed 299 times

thagrol

Re: Seagate plus hub 8TB error

Sat Dec 29, 2018 12:52 pm

It's probably been formatted with a filesystem that raspbian doesn't understand without additional software.

Plug the drive back into windows, open "This PC", find the drive, right click, then properties. Look for "File system" on the "General" tab and post what it shows for that.

Someone can then probably point you at the right software to install.
This space unintentionally left blank.

fruitoftheloom

Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:04 pm

lunae0023 wrote:
Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:56 am
Hello,

I just got a Raspberry pi. I have setup plex on it and now I am trying to use my Seagate plus hub 8TB HDD that has all my media on it. When I plug it in I get an error, see attachment. I was using this drive on a Windows computer before trying to move it to the RPi, so I don't know if that has something to do with it. I can't find any solutions to this error. Can someone please help me. Also I am very new to using Linux so I have a step learning curve. Image

Have you installed the NTFS file system package ? natively Linux can not read the NTFS file system:

Code: Select all

sudo apt update
sudo apt instal ntfs-3g
adieu

Asus CS10 Chromebit / HP Envy 4500 Wireless Printer / Raspberry Pi Model 2B v1.1 / RealVNC Software...

fbe

Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:36 pm

or if the drive has an exFAT filesystem:

sudo apt install exfat-utils