elegendx
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 1:58 pm

Raspberry Pi 3 problem

Fri Jul 14, 2017 7:26 am

Hello my friends :D

I have bought Raspberry Pi 3 model B and I installed Rasbian. When I open Chromium Web Browser or Firefox or Processing or Arduino or when I wanna to install something in terminal, my Raspberry Pi makes reboot.
Also, I'm connected over: Logitech Keyboard and mouse with bluetooth, a adapter HDMI to VGA with Display monitor (SyncMaster 920N Samsung), Micro SD Card (SANDISK SDSQXVF-032G-GN6MA 32GB EXTREME MICRO SDXC UHS-I U3 CLASS 10 WITH ADAPTER).
Can I have help us please?
Last edited by elegendx on Fri Jul 14, 2017 7:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10491
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK

Re: Raspberry Pi 3 problem

Fri Jul 14, 2017 7:28 am

what PSU are you using I recon it is not good enough
also see
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=58151
I know it is booting but it may help
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

elegendx
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 1:58 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi 3 problem

Fri Jul 14, 2017 10:55 am

I forget other problem. I show my desktop Raspbian a symbol yellow voltage.
What is that?
May require more energy. I use PSU my smartphone Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge.

hskov
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:08 am

Re: Raspberry Pi 3 problem

Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:22 am

The yellow lightning is an indicator that your RaspberryPi doesn't get enough power. You will have to get a better PSU.

Canedje
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:18 am

Re: Raspberry Pi 3 problem

Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:34 am

The Yellow sign says PSU voltage to low.
It needs a PSU of at least 2,5 A

User avatar
bensimmo
Posts: 4183
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 3:02 pm
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: Raspberry Pi 3 problem

Fri Jul 14, 2017 1:39 pm

Canedje wrote:The Yellow sign says PSU voltage to low.
It needs a PSU of at least 2,5 A
Official S7 charger is a 2A adaptor as most are now.
It should be fine for the Pi which will be using less than 1A in this setup.
O would try a different cable, that or it's not an official plug charger.

elegendx
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 1:58 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi 3 problem

Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:52 pm

I have a question.
Can I use over 5V and 2,5A?

User avatar
bensimmo
Posts: 4183
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 3:02 pm
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: Raspberry Pi 3 problem

Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:59 pm

The 5V is the important part, too much and the pi fries, too little and the pi stops.

The current (A) is the max. spec on the PSU. If it's 20A the Pi will still only use what it needs.
BUT it does mean it has the potential to take all 20A (shirt circuit of 5V gpio's for example and the Pi probably wouldn't like that ;-)).

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10491
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK

Re: Raspberry Pi 3 problem

Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:01 pm

USB is 5V +/- 5% so 4.75V to 5.25V
more amps will not matter [YMMV]

so 2.5A or 5A @ 5V will be good -


use a better usb lead


anything @ 9V will kill it [YMMV]
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

klricks
Posts: 6609
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:01 am
Location: Grants Pass, OR, USA
Contact: Website

Re: Raspberry Pi 3 problem

Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:33 am

bensimmo wrote:........BUT it does mean it has the potential to take all 20A (shirt circuit of 5V gpio's for example and the Pi probably wouldn't like that ;-)).
The RPi 3 has a self resetting 'polyfuse' rated at 2.6A hold current & 5.2A trip current. The fuse will not allow more than that.
Unless specified otherwise my response is based on the latest and fully updated Raspbian Buster w/ Desktop OS.

elegendx
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 1:58 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi 3 problem

Sat Jul 15, 2017 7:10 am

If I understand, I can use PSU 5V 2,6A or 6A.. Right?

User avatar
bensimmo
Posts: 4183
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 3:02 pm
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: Raspberry Pi 3 problem

Sat Jul 15, 2017 7:14 am

klricks wrote:
bensimmo wrote:........BUT it does mean it has the potential to take all 20A (shirt circuit of 5V gpio's for example and the Pi probably wouldn't like that ;-)).
The RPi 3 has a self resetting 'polyfuse' rated at 2.6A hold current & 5.2A trip current. The fuse will not allow more than that.
The A+ has similar, i'll ask it why it doesn't work and just whistles now... It still hasn't reset ;-).
Last edited by bensimmo on Sat Jul 15, 2017 7:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bensimmo
Posts: 4183
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 3:02 pm
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: Raspberry Pi 3 problem

Sat Jul 15, 2017 7:14 am

elegendx wrote:If I understand, I can use PSU 5V 2,6A or 6A.. Right?
Yes.

Return to “Troubleshooting”