Canedje
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:18 am

RPI 3 no wifi

Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:24 pm

I try to use my build in wifi of my RPI 3. I can not fix it
I did add my ip to /etc/network/interfaces:

Code: Select all

auto lo

iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.2.185
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.2.0
broadcast 192.168.2.255
gateway 192.168.2.1

allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet static
address 192.168.2.200
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.2.0
broadcast 192.168.2.255
gateway 192.168.2.1
wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
iface default inet dhcp
I also added my network name and password to : /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

Code: Select all

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
ap_scan=1
update_config=1
network={
        ssid="MySSID"
        psk="MYPassWd"
}
If I do ifconfig -a I dont see wlan0

Code: Select all

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr b8:27:eb:aa:d4:28
          inet addr:192.168.2.185  Bcast:192.168.2.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::640e:df5b:42a7:e7a7/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:34281 errors:0 dropped:139 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:61838 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1883577 (1.7 MiB)  TX bytes:91484768 (87.2 MiB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:1553 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1553 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1
          RX bytes:5447280 (5.1 MiB)  TX bytes:5447280 (5.1 MiB)
I'm also not able to see SSID's
sudo iwlist wlan0 scan gives:

Code: Select all

wlan0     Interface doesn't support scanning.
There is no connection

How activate the build in wIfi?
Last edited by Canedje on Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 36316
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: RPI 3 no wifi

Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:30 pm

Put your interfaces file back to normal. Don't update it, it breaks networking.

viewtopic.php?p=1095863#p1095863 has sample interfaces and dhcpcd.conf files for setting a static IP address.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

Canedje
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:18 am

Re: RPI 3 no wifi

Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:34 pm

I do know how to setup WiFI and static ip
On my RPI 2B it works fine with an usb wifi dongle

I try now to use the inside wifi of the RPI3
It looks like its not activated?
The wifi equipment is not there at all?

Canedje
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:18 am

Re: RPI 3 no wifi

Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:19 pm

Solved a syntax error in one off the config files

kreisler
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Germany

Re: RPI 3 no wifi

Sat Jul 01, 2017 1:03 am

DougieLawson wrote:Put your interfaces file back to normal.
You mean the untouched original file interfaces.conf? Restoring a backup copy of it?

Difficult to make backup copies (of which files) in the first place. "Permission denied" error when I try to open or copy the *.conf files.

I ended up reinstalling NOOBS

Return to “Troubleshooting”