jeffkey1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:31 pm
Location: Hook, Hampshire

Can't connect to home sky BB wifi Pi3

Fri Jan 27, 2017 6:16 pm

Hello,

I'm hoping someone can help.

I have a new pi 3 with on board wifi.

I cannot connect to my home wifi which is a new style Sky Hub.

Every other device in the house, including my Amazon Ech, works fine on wifi.

I have tried with both a Raspbian and OSMC install on two different SD cards.

Reading other posts, things I have tried.

The pi works with a LAN connection.

The pi works with a hot spot from my phone!!!!!

The sky Modem Hub is Dual Band , WPA2-PSK Encryption, IP4 and IP6 compliant.

Any ideas?

rubikwizard
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:37 pm
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact: Website

Re: Can't connect to home sky BB wifi Pi3

Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:51 pm

I had similar problems with the Sky Q hub and it was to do with the dual band. I separated the dual bands, giving them separate SSIDs and then the pi3 connected fine to the 2.4GHz band.

jeffkey1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:31 pm
Location: Hook, Hampshire

Re: Can't connect to home sky BB wifi Pi3

Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:33 pm

Thanks for the suggestion,

I have now decoupled the two bands in my wifi hub and given them different names.

The pi still won't connect to either band.

P.S I'm running the latest version of Raspian.

Also I am using a Logitech keyboard and its associated dongle in the pi.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 36882
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Can't connect to home sky BB wifi Pi3

Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:55 pm

Does your Sky box have a hidden SSID? Does it have any MAC filtering?

What do you get from iwlist scan command? Can you see your network SSID?
What's in /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf? Have you got the right credentials for the right network?

It should look something like

Code: Select all

country=GB
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1

network={
        ssid="yourSkyQBoxSSIDhere"
        psk="yourVerySecretPasswordhere"
}
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

jeffkey1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:31 pm
Location: Hook, Hampshire

Re: Can't connect to home sky BB wifi Pi3

Sat Jan 28, 2017 7:16 pm

Thanks for the reply.........

Actually there is a very strong hidden ssid.

Having just checked on my phone with a wifi analyzer app.

Have not worked out were its coming from yet. Its on the same channel as the 2.5g signal I use.

It's not the hp printer, I can see that one.

iwlist scan shows 9 networks (all 2.4g) including my own. There are no 5g networks showing, although I'm running one.

wpa_supplicant.conf has the correct ssid, psk and wpa-psk key management.

There is no mac filtering.
Last edited by jeffkey1 on Sat Jan 28, 2017 7:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 36882
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Can't connect to home sky BB wifi Pi3

Sat Jan 28, 2017 7:54 pm

Take everything out of the network={} block except ssid and psk. That lets wpa_supplicant work it out for itself.

Move to any other channel, one of my APs runs on channel 4, the other runs on channel 8 to avoid clashing with the neighbours who are all on channel 1 or channel 11.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

jeffkey1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:31 pm
Location: Hook, Hampshire

Re: Can't connect to home sky BB wifi Pi3

Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:44 pm

ok tried that.

Moved my 2.4g channel to 4.

Cleared out the everything out of the network={} block except ssid and psk.

still no joy.

Incidentally the hidden signal moved channel to match....

I don't have any other Sky Q products, only the hub. So I pretty sure its not a hidden mesh network. Which I think its on the 5g anyway.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 36882
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Can't connect to home sky BB wifi Pi3

Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:58 pm

jeffkey1 wrote:Incidentally the hidden signal moved channel to match....
So that tends to point to it being your equipment that's doing it.

Are other WiFi devices like phones, tablets, laptops able to see your network and connect to it?
Have you tried a BRS hard reset (big red switch) and reboot on your Sky box?
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

jeffkey1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:31 pm
Location: Hook, Hampshire

Re: Can't connect to home sky BB wifi Pi3

Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:13 pm

Every thing else can see the wifi networks.

For example the Chrome book happily switched between 2.4g and 5g networks.

All other devices connect ok. I have 25 listed on my Fing app that at one time or another connect to my home network.
(Not the hidden wifi ones though).

Its not the chromecast, amazon echo. I don't have any wifi extenders or Sky Q mini boxes.

I reckon the Sky Hub is up to something or something else, other than the printer, is acting as an access point.

Thanks for your suggestions and help.

I will go back to a wired connection for now and try the pi3 at a friends house to see it it connects there.

jeffkey1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:31 pm
Location: Hook, Hampshire

Re: Can't connect to home sky BB wifi Pi3

Sun Jan 29, 2017 2:34 pm

Getting side tracked in getting the pi3 to work with my wifi I found mysterious strong hidden networks on the same channel and my wifi.

It turned out to be the Chromecasts in the Kitchen and Lounge creating the hidden networks.

They were both running guest mode, which allows people not on your network, but in your house, to play music.

Turned off Guest mode using the Google Home app and the signals have just gone away.

Now to try the pi3 again :-)

Return to “Troubleshooting”