electronicman

Model 3 Slow

Tue Nov 01, 2016 11:00 pm

I have at least one of every Raspberry-Pi model, and I noticed that each one is a bit faster than the previous one. However I find that the Model-3 appears to be slower to react than the model-2.

I set both the model 2 and the model 3 up with the latest OS (Pixel) and running them side by side the reaction time for the Model-2 is noticably faster when using Chromuim or opening Libreoffice writer or even some of the games.

I am no expert in these matters, and I only noticed this as my regular PC has failed, and I resorted to using the Pi's as my desktop PC temporarily.

I have also observed that when running streaming video using Chromium/Flash, The model 3 will give me a high temperature indication after about 10 to 15 minutes, while the model 2 does not. I am running the Model 2 overclock at high

Has anyone else noticed this or do I have a problem with my Model-3?
David

kusti8

Re: Model 3 Slow

Tue Nov 01, 2016 11:11 pm

The Pi3 can sometimes overheat which is why a heatsink may be useful. Streaming videos in Flash is very intensive and will up your CPU temp very high. Not really much out of the ordinary, although the Pi3 is faster than the Pi2.
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't.

davidcoton

Tue Nov 01, 2016 11:51 pm

Have you compared speeds using the same SDCard in each? That eliminates software differences and differences in the performance of the card.
Signature retired

Gavinmc42

Wed Nov 02, 2016 1:01 am

Use sudo raspi-config in a terminal window to check if OpenGL is turned off.
I have found Chromium runs better with it off.
I'm dancing on Rainbows.
Raspberries are not Apples or Oranges

electronicman

Wed Nov 02, 2016 11:07 pm

Thank you for the replies.

I found a nice small heat sink and stuck it on the CPU with some heat sink compound, and the Hi-Temp indicator as gone away.

I am using the exact same SD cards on both units.