Khstapp

AVCONV syntax - missing code

Thu Dec 31, 2015 1:23 am

1 - I'm a total noob with raspberry
2 - Using PI 2 model B using Wheezy 7.8
3 - Attempting the stop motion learning lesson with my son
https://www.raspberrypi.org/learning/pu ... worksheet/

Everything works fine up until we try to convert the .jpg files into a video using avconv:
avconv -r 10 -qscale 2 -i animation/%O3d.jpg animation.mp4

We get the following error message: Could not find codec parameters (Video: mjpeg)

First the obvious things we've tried:
1 - file names are frame001.jpg thru frame010.jpg
2 - opened the files using the image viewer to confirm they are valid image files
3 - confirmed the file path. Full path is /home/pi/animation. Verified the files are in the directory.
avconv -r 10 -qscale 2 -i /home/pi/animation/%O3d.jpg animation.mp4
4 - We tried to convert just one image file:
avconv -r 10 -qscale 2 -i /home/pi/animation/frame001.jpg animation.mp4

That worked but obviously a time lapse of one frame is worthless but at least it showed the directory path and file is valid. We then tried each frame one at a time to make sure the source files are valid.

Each file processed but when we tried to view the video with omxplayer no video played - had to cntl-c to stop.

I've searched the forums and Google for the error message but didn't find anything so any guidance is appreciated.

Navyscourge

Re: AVCONV syntax - missing code

Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:40 am

I have not tried this yet, but I think the avconv command is wrong (and wrong in the worksheet). The input filename pattern is wrong for the files that you have; the command should be

Code: Select all

avconv -r 10 -qscale 2 -i animation/frame%O3d.jpg animation.mp4
Happy to be proven wrong :D - the error message might be misleading

Khstapp

Thu Dec 31, 2015 5:43 pm