JoGusto

NOOBS 1_4_0 on RPi 2ModB -- No Joy. Success, anyone?

Mon May 04, 2015 7:25 pm

I am a noob to RPi, but not a noob in the generic sense. However, I know that even very advanced and experienced users can make "noob" mistakes, so here goes! I am not very Linux-experienced, but have done a lot of *Nix programming (Solaris, AIX, and some C dev on Linux too), and many years of Windows system- and application-level programming.

Soooo... I have purchased two of the wonderful new RPi2 units from Newark Element 14. I've looked at the boards under the microscope... look good visually. I've checked my 2.2 A wall wart, also from Newark. It's producing 5.23v when plugged into the RPi2. I have taken my SanDisk 8GB microSD card -- the one that came with my GoPro Hero 4 -- and I've used the SD Formatter app on Windows, just as suggested in the NOOBS setup "how to" info. I downloaded the "full boat" NOOBS with Raspian etc included, about 700+MB, I did check the SHA-1 hash, the ZIP file is not corrupted, and I did unpack the ZIP and copy the files into the root directory of the SD card.

Why so much detail? To short circuit the "did you do this, did you try that" kind of stuff, the kind which might be obvious oversights.

So, having done all that, I got the rainbow of delight, and the nice, sharp-looking RPi NOOBS screen to come up. I checked my Raspbian OS choice in the checkbox, and then clicked Install.

Ok, I've done that more than once. I've done it about 6 times now, each time trying something a little different. I've been stymied each time by an error. "Data_Partition: error mounting file system" if I select the Data Partition option. Or, "Error creating file system. MKFS.FAT: warning - lower case labels might not work properly with DOS or Windows/mkfs.fat: failed whilst writing FAT/mkfs.fat: 3.0.26 (2014-03-07). Or, another error that I neglected to write down.