BlackRa1n

USB Not Connecting

Sat Jul 07, 2012 7:00 pm

Hello,
I'm new to the Rapberry Pi and only got it today. Please bare with me, as I am only 15 :P
I want to connect my USB to my Pi, but I have had no luck. I have tried connecting it through my powered USB Hub and via the USB ports that come with the Pi.
I have tried using other methods, such as using another SD Card and plugging my SD Card Reader into my Pi with another SD Card in, still nothing.

If somebody could help me with this, it would be much appreciated! :)

juliang

Re: USB Not Connecting

Sat Jul 07, 2012 9:35 pm

You wrote: I want to connect my USB to my Pi, but I have had no luck. I have tried connecting it through my powered USB Hub and via the USB ports that come with the Pi.
I have tried using other methods, such as using another SD Card and plugging my SD Card Reader into my Pi with another SD Card in, still nothing.

I'm confused what you are trying to do. Have you managed to switch your Raspberry Pi on? Have you got a working operating system and are trying to attach a USB device to the Pi? If not, how did you set up your SD card?

BlackRa1n

Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:49 am

juliang wrote:You wrote: I want to connect my USB to my Pi, but I have had no luck. I have tried connecting it through my powered USB Hub and via the USB ports that come with the Pi.

I'm confused what you are trying to do. Have you managed to switch your Raspberry Pi on? Have you got a working operating system and are trying to attach a USB device to the Pi? If not, how did you set up your SD card?
Sorry for not being clear!
I have my Pi up and running using Debian. I've logged in and all that stuff, but I wanted to transfer files between my Laptop and Pi using a USB. The Pi won't detect the USB though and I have tried using powered USB hub too, but to no success! :(

itimpi

Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:07 am

If you plug in a USB stik or a SD card in a USB SD reader then it will almost certainly appear as device /dev/sda.