songsmyth

Can't get new Element14, 7 inch display, working in ...

Sun Oct 04, 2015 12:59 am

Hello All,
I have one of the new Raspberry Pi 7 inch monitors,purchased through Element 14 for a Model 2 B which was recommended for best results. Everything looks great on the display, it's cute, the touch screen works great (with small fingers!) However, my primary goal was to use the display in portrait mode. This is where hair pulling started...

Yes, I'm a Noob to some parts of the pi world while fairly competent in other areas. BUT this is the single most FRUSTRATING thing I've come up against ("What is all the fuzzy stuff in your office?", asked my wife!)

I have followed thread after thread, I've edited config.txt (hair pulling has increased) I've even reinstalled Wheezy, the latest and greatest 3 times. I've done things to my local rc config files that would make a "free market" sailor blush... All to no avail! I've done the simple "rotate=1,2,3,4, or 5,6,7, and 8 followed by mem=256.i various config.txt files... ALL TO NO AVAIL

I would be eternally grateful to the person or persons who could help me get this snide little, evil, innocent looking monister... I mean monitor ... functioning in the manner I've dreamed of for weeks now.
Most sincerely,
songsmyth

DougieLawson

Re: Can't get new Element14, 7 inch display, working in ...

Sun Oct 04, 2015 7:37 am

Since

Code: Select all

lcd_rotate=2
turns the display upside down, try using

lcd_rotate=1
or

lcd_rotate=3
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

W. H. Heydt

Sun Oct 04, 2015 4:17 pm

Or use my method... grasp the LCD by the top and bottom edges. Rotate your wrist 180 degrees. Set the LCD down again.

songsmyth

Mon Oct 05, 2015 1:08 am