nzlowie

Another touch screen question

Mon Sep 14, 2015 11:52 am

Hi all
I'm very new to the Raspberry pi so please cut me a bit of slack and speak real slowly (LOL).

Anyway I've just unpacked and connected my pi to the new official screen, no worries there and it work great apart from the touch screen.
Can someone please step me through the setup of this new display, or should i wait a bit longer until some of the bugs are sorted as I've read that there are some issues with it locking up.....

Thanks Dave

topguy

Re: Another touch screen question

Mon Sep 14, 2015 12:02 pm

> no worries there and it work great apart from the touch screen.

What do you mean with "apart from the touch screen" ?

https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/the-ea ... i-display/
Do you need more than is mentioned in the blog post ? Be more specific.

scotty101

Mon Sep 14, 2015 12:03 pm

With a recent update of Raspbian, I didn't have to do any thing special to get the display and touchscreen working.

If I were you, I'd go back and re-connect the ribbon cables to the display board. The smaller cable of the two from the display module is the touch screen interface.
Electronic and Computer Engineer
Pi Interests: Home Automation, IOT, Python and Tkinter

SkyRise

Mon Sep 14, 2015 12:08 pm

I imagine the problem is exactly as the previous poster mentioned.

I almost completely overlooked the smaller connector for the touchscreen and only twigged after putting everything together...

nzlowie

Mon Sep 14, 2015 12:37 pm

Thanks guys, the small flat cable for the touch screen is connected but I'll recheck it... it went together so easily and booted up properly so i just tought there might be something in the software configuration i needed to change..

If there's nothing to change i just reset the touch cable.

Cheers Dave

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Tue Sep 15, 2015 4:14 pm

If you are getting touchscreen lockups then run

Code: Select all