ThomasS

Setup without Windows 10 PC

Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:38 pm

I don't have Windows 10 on my PC so am struggling to setup Windows IoT for Pi. I'm no expert but would it be possible for someone to flash a pre-set-up SD card and upload the image so people like me can download it?
Last edited by ThomasS on Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ThomasS

joan

Re: Setup without Windwos 10 PC

Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:41 pm

ThomasS wrote:I don't have Windows 10 on my PC so am struggling to setup Windows IoT for Pi. I'm no expert but would it be possible for someone to flash a pre-set-up SD card and upload the image so people like me can download it?
Wouldn't that be illegal?

ThomasS

Re: Setup without Windows 10 PC

Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:47 pm

Perhaps (if so I'm not advising it!) - like I said I'm no expert - , but it can be done with Raspbian can't it? Or is that different because Raspbian is open-source?
ThomasS

joan

Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:51 pm

ThomasS wrote:Perhaps (if so I'm not advising it!) - like I said I'm no expert - , but it can be done with Raspbian can't it? Or is that different because Raspbian is open-source?
I had the impression that the Windows 10 IoT had quite an onerous EULA to which you have to agree. I'm not sure how that would work with an unrestricted download.

ThomasS

Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:53 pm

Oh well :( . Thanks for the advice. I guess I'll have to wait until the desktop version of Windows 10 is released so I can update my PC.
ThomasS

pranishk

Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:56 pm

Today you do require a Windows 10 PC to create an SD Card for the Windows 10 IoT Core for Raspberry Pi 2 image. We are working on ways to make this release available directly, but don't have anything in place today. Appreciate the feedback.

Pranish Kumar (pranishk@microsoft.com)
Microsoft Corporation

ThomasS

Thu Apr 30, 2015 5:01 pm